Being A Christian, Christian Parenting, Faith, Homeschool, Jesus, Obedience, Prayer, Single Mom

Obedience – Trusting and Following God even when it doesn’t seem to make sense

Obedience. Why is it so important that God’s children walk in it? Something struck me last night as I read Numbers 14:41-43. It says, But Moses said, “Why are you disobeying the Lord’s command? This will not succeed! Do not go up, because the Lord is not with you. You will be defeated by your enemies, for the Amalekites and the Canaanites will face you there. Because you have turned away from the Lord, he will not be with you and you will fall by the sword.” It really stood out to me that the reason the Lord was not with them as they went to battle, was because they were disobeying! He had specifically told them not to go, as they had angered Him by complaining. They assumed that He would be with them anyways, and lives were lost as a result. As God’s children, it would be devastating for the Lord to not be with us. Our disobedience can cause a gap and we need to be vigilant to not turn away from the Lord, as the Israelites did here.

God calls His children to obey. Just as we expect our own children to obey us. While we usually have our children’s best interests at heart, we can sometimes have selfish motives for wanting our children to do as we say. Being obedient to the Lord is different in that we can always trust that He will do what is best in our lives, for He knows and holds our future.

There have been a few critical moments in my life where I have, praise God, chosen to obey. One that really stands out was when God called me to homeschool my children. I was volunteering for my son’s Grade 4 class, cutting papers in the hallway, when I heard the Spirit of the Lord say “I want you to homeschool your kids”. It was crystal clear and I actually jumped a little bit and asked, “Is that even legal, God?!” I laugh about that now, but at the time it sounded like a crazy, terrifying idea. How could I teach my children the core subjects, not to mention everything they would need to know about the Lord? I had only been saved for three years at that time, and I was sure their school could do a much better job of indoctrinating them than I could.

As insecure as I felt, I trusted God in that moment and pulled my children out of school. I can see now the many reasons God called me to do that. Later in the school year, my children and I ended up fleeing my dangerous marriage. We were literally in hiding, and homeschooling provided a “constant” during that frightening, unsure time in our lives. I also didn’t have to worry about them being away from me, had they been in school I’m not sure what we would have done in terms of safety.

Then there is the sheer blessing of homeschooling that I am so thankful to God for providing to us. I know my children in ways I never did before. I know their hearts and thoughts, and our relationships with each other have flourished since we’ve been able to spend our days and evenings together. I never could have set this benefit up myself, it is all because God has a good plan and all we have to do is listen and trust. 

Obedience (1).png

 

I wanted to share this story to paint the picture of blessing that accompanies being obedient to the Lord. Not all of my pain or heartache is gone, but every time I have stepped out as the Lord calls me, it has brought me closer to Him and allowed me to be filled to overflowing. That overflow inevitably spills onto those around me and blesses their lives as well. 

While we need to move when we hear the Lord nudging us in a certain direction, we also need to be obedient to His word. Our willingness to follow God wherever He may take us needs to be rooted in knowing His word and making it our Authority. “Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning; For I trust in You; Teach me the way in which I should walk; For to You I lift up my soul.” Psalm 143:8. We need the Bible to teach us what path we should be taking. Only then can we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5).

As mothers, being obedient to God gives us grace and purpose as we raise up the next generation. Let’s take a look at what the Word says about being obedient. John 14:23 says, “Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.” Notice that loving Jesus comes before obeying. If we obey the Bible as a legality, we are not living according to the New Covenant Jesus came to give us. If we obey because we love the Lord, we are inviting Him to make His home with us! This is exciting!

As we saw at the beginning of this post, disobedience leads to the Lord not adding His provision to our lives. His Word does say that He will never leave us or forsake us, but there is a leap from Him not leaving us, to Him having freedom to direct us in our everyday lives. I have learned very well that the Lord is much better at ordering my steps than I am. Many times I have followed my own ways, which have always ended in major shame and embarrassment. These are the things the enemy loves to call to my memory when I am ready to step out for God, even though it was him that used my selfishness and pride to do them in the first place! 

What I’m trying to say is it is always in our best interest to follow and obey God, even when things don’t seem to make sense at the time. He will not lead us astray and we would be foolish to depend on our own hearts for wisdom or direction. The God who created the heavens and the earth is calling us, directing us, and waiting for us to step into obedience, which will be for our good and for His glory! What a great God! 

It is necessary for us to fill up with His Word each day and make that our number one priority. Five minutes here and there just doesn’t cut it, let us be women of the Word and women in prayer. I’m praying for you all as you seek His face and walk in obedience! God bless you and keep you. 

Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. Matthew 7:24

I would love to hear your stories of times you’ve been courageous in being obedient to the Lord! Please leave a comment or email me, your testimony could be just what another Sister in Christ needs to hear ❤ 

Leave a Reply

