Being A Christian, Prayer

* The Importance of Prayer * And How To Pray Using The ACTS Model *

Prayer. The most powerful weapon we wield as Christians. Yet we rarely make use of it. Maybe we think God will just take care of things, we don’t need to pray. Or we think it won’t make a difference. Or we don’t actually know how to offer up a powerful prayer. We thank God for our food and ask Him to bless our day, the end. Friends, we have SO much more authority than that!  

For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh.  For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ,” 2 Corinthians 10:3-5

God has really put on my heart lately to be fervent in prayer. There’s too much at stake right now to not be. There are souls all around us that need salvation. The enemy is gaining more and more ground and what are we doing as the children of God? We’re sitting around chatting about how dark the world is getting. We’re talking strategic ways to reach unbelievers. God has a better way! Here are just a few scripture verses about the power we have through prayer:

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.” 1 John 5:14

“If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” Matthew 7:11

“And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” Ephesians 6:18

“I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people—  for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.” 1 Timothy 2:1-2

There are so many more, this is just scratching the surface! Just these four examples paint a pretty clear picture – We are to be praying on all occasions and our prayers will not be in vain. The Lord of heaven will hear us and will be faithful to answer us.

Ok, we’ve been convicted. God is calling us to be in prayer way more than we are. How do we go about praying in such a way that we can align ourselves with the Spirit of God and offer prayers that line up with His will?

First of all I want to say, if you are struggling to start praying, I totally get it. One thing that’s really helped me in seasons of not wanting to pray is literally just saying to the Lord, “God, I want to want to be faithful in prayer. I want to want it because right now I don’t”. That is an honest prayer that God will honour! I’ve also prayed things, as a young Christian, like “God, I want to be a prayer warrior! I don’t even know how to really pray right now but make me like the praying women in the Bible.” The more authentic we are with God, the softer our hearts will be, which creates a beautiful environment for the Spirit of God to move powerfully in our lives. When you don’t feel like praying, tell God that! He will change your heart and you will be singing His praises when prayer starts coming more naturally to you!

Back to offering prayers that please the Lord and align with His good will. Some older women in my church taught me the ACTS model of praying and it has changed the way I come before God. If you want to become a warrior in prayer for the Lord, this model will get you to that place! There are four steps.

A Stands For Adoration

Adoration is simply praising the Lord. Praising Him for all that He is and all that He has done. As I get going, I find myself saying scripture out loud and it just brings me to a place of total awe and wonder at the God I worship. This step gets your heart in the correct position to come before the throne of the Lord.

C Stands For Confession

We need to confess our sins to the Lord! This is an integral part of having our prayers answered. When we sin, our hearts harden and it becomes harder and harder to hear from God. The only way to fix this is to confess and repent. As soon as we do that, He is faithful to forgive! My favourite verse on confession is 2 Chronicles 7:14 “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” What a promise! Confessing our sin benefits us immensely, do not skip this step.

T Stands For Thanksgiving

Oh, let us be thankful for all the Lord has done! This step is where we give God thanks for specific blessings in our lives. I love being intentional about Thanksgiving because it really makes me think of all the amazing ways God has been good to me and my family. If I don’t do this regularly, I am quick to forget prayers that He has answered, and ways that He has blessed me. It lifts up my heart to remember these things and motivates me even more to bring ALL things to Him in prayer, as I know that He will answer.

S Stands For Supplication

After all of the praising, confessing, and thanking, now is the time to bring new requests before our God! It feels so good to do this step last, as we know we are in right standing with God and can be confident that His ears are absolutely open to what we are saying. Bring it all to God! Bring your own worries, desires, and hopes. Bring the needs of others. Bring the darkness of your city and nation and ask God to turn it into light. Pray for those you know who are unsaved. Pray for new believers that they will continue to thrive in good soil. Pray for brothers and sisters who are struggling with their faith. Whatever God lays on your heart, bring it! It is amazing the power you will feel being your prayers as you fearlessly and boldly come to the throne of God. Have confidence that He will answer!

Well, friends, I hope that you are inspired to be more faithful in prayer. I pray that every person who reads this will commit to a more fervent prayer life and that through that, the Church will be strengthened and more numbers will be added to us daily.

Lord, let us pray as an army for your Glory!

 

Leave a Reply

