Christian Parenting, Homeschool, Single Mom

I Wanted To Be a Mom

Ever since I can remember, I have wanted to be a mom. When I was a teen and people would ask me “What do you want to be when you grow up?”, I would immediately think “I want to be a mom”. I’ve never desired a certain career or lifestyle. For me, my dreams consisted of raising children, soaking up every moment of childhood innocence while nurturing the next generation of my family.

Now, as the mother of a handful of children, I can hardly believe that I am living out my childhood dream. I am truly blessed to answer this call to motherhood and I know full well that my children are a gift from God. This road isn’t always roses, though. There are many nights spent wondering if I’m doing enough. Am I pointing them to the Lord often enough? Am I giving them too much/too little? Am I involving them in the right things? Then there’s the part where I’m doing this as a single mother.

I have been the sole parent to my children for just over two years. We left my dangerous marriage and God has been piecing together our brokenness ever since. That experience deepened my faith in ways I never thought possible, and brings to life James 1:2-4 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

Being a woman, standing on the firm foundation of the Lord, parenting children has brought me to a place of pure thankfulness and joy as I follow the path He has laid for me. It is my hearts desire to be able to walk alongside other moms who can identify with any aspect of my life. Whether you are a single parent, a homeschooling mom, or a lady with some kids, I would love to get to know you and encourage you in your walk as you seek to glorify our Father in your life.

Leave a Reply

